Showing posts with label Broadway. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Broadway. Show all posts

Saturday, January 7, 2012

310 Broadway - Centennial House

Chateau 100 / Centennial Building Complex

Place:
Centennial House

Location: 310 Broadway Avenue (Map)
Opened: July 1, 1970
Developer: M.E.P.C. Canadian Properties Limited
Contractor: Bentall Construction
Cost: $5.3 m (total project cost with Chateau 100)

Background


Artist's drawing, March 14 1969, Winnipeg Free Press.

Despite their distinct appearances, Chateau 100 (see next post) and Centennial House were constructed as one complex.
Their names reference the Manitoba Centennial year of 1970.

Construction was to go ahead in 1964.
The MEPC Group, a national real estate development and management company that had a number of holdings in Winnipeg, purchased the land and demolished the existing properties, mostly old apartment blocks. MEPC, however, got into a dispute with the province and city over the high rate of property taxes so they put a moratorium on new projects in the city.

A proposed tax freeze on new construction in the downtown brought MEPC back to the table. On March 14, 1969 Mayor Juba and Premier Weir stood together with MEPC president Peter Anker as the $5.3 project was announced at the Charter House Hotel.


Winnipeg Tribune, December 1969 (source)

Construction began in 1969. Centennial House, the eight storey office portion facing Broadway, was the first to open on July 1 1970. Display suites for the 26 storey Chateau 100 opened the following month and tenants began moving in in the fall.



Initial retail tenants included Mackie Travel. office Boeing of Canada , Xerox, Bentall Construction,
and the Canadian Acceptance Corporation. Current tenants include The Fyxx coffee shop and the Canadian Diabetes Association.

'Shoal Lake Anniversary' Fountain
MEPC also was responsible for covering most of the cost of Centennial Fountain located on the boulevard on Broadway across from Centennial House in 1970.

Friday, September 16, 2011

Broadway and Donald Street - Centennial Fountain

'Shoal Lake Anniversary' Fountain

Place:
Centennial Fountain (a.k.a. Sudsy Fountain)

Address: Broadway at Donald Street (Map)
Opened: October 22, 1970
Architect: Smith Carter Parkin
Cost: $25,000+

Opening Ceremony (Tribune archives)

This fountain at Broadway and Donald Street commemorates the centennial of Manitoba and the 50th anniversary of the first water supplied to Winnipeg via the Shoal Lake Aqueduct.

The water anniversary was an afterthought as Winnipeg's Metro council had been looking for some time for a location to build its own fountain to commemorate the occasion which took place in 1919. When this plan came along, they decided to double up.

'Shoal Lake Anniversary' Fountain
Fountain with Centennial House in the background

The fountain was estimated to cost $25,000, though may have been closer to $30,000 by the time it was completed. The cost was split between Metro Winnipeg, which contributed 40% or $10,000, and MEPC Canadian Properties Limited the remainder.

The MEPC Group was a national real estate development and management company that had a number of holdings in Winnipeg including
Centennial House / Chateau 100 across the street at Broadway and Donald which opened a couple of months before the fountain.

'Shoal Lake Anniversary' Fountain

Centennial Fountain was opened by Lieutenant Governor John McKeag on October 22, 1970.

This is not the oldest fountain in downtown. There is, of course, Waddell Fountain in Central Park (1914), Memorial Park Fountain (1962), and another Centennial Fountain in the Steinkopf Gardens behind the Concert Hall (circa 1970).

The nickname, (my nickname for it, anyway) is 'sudsy fountain' as it routinely has laundry detergent added to it by person(s) unknown causing it to bubble up onto the street !

© 2011, Christian Cassidy

Saturday, March 19, 2011

363 Broadway

363 Broadway
Project: 363 Broadway retrofit
Location: 363 Broadway (Map)
Architect: (1975) LM Architects; (2011) Smith Carter
Cost: (1975) $10m; 2011 retrofit $4m
Status: Begins April 2011 (completion in 6 - 12 months)

Background:

363 Broadway

The Imperial Group was a local development company that specialized in apartment towers. Lakeshore Park Apartments (Fort Richmond), St. Vital Villa, Peppertree Estates (St. Vital) and Place Louis Riel are some of their developments.


In 1974 they unveiled plans for the Imperial Broadway Tower at the corner of Broadway and Carlton. Designed by LM Architects, the exterior of the sixteen storey building was made up of 80,000 square feet of 'futuristic looking' bronze-painted glass.

A hurdle that held up the approval for a period of weeks was the tower's height. There had been a long standing practice, it does not appear to have been am actual bylaw, that Broadway-area buildings could not block the view of Golden Boy's torch. At a short planning hearing it was shown that the planned structure was actually shorter than the statue and, besides, the recently opened Woodsworth Building (built by the province) was a couple of storeys taller than what Imperial was proposing.


Dec 20, 1975, Winnipeg Free Press

The plan was approved on February 24, 1975 and the tower opened in January 1977. It was expected that the province would then build a
1000 car parkade on the lot to the north but that never materialized and it remains an empty lot.


March 1977 Winnipeg Free Press

Initial tenants included the Imperial Group, Greenshields Incorporated and Monarch Life Assurance Company. A recent large tenant was The Faneuil Group.

In
April 2011 a $4 m retrofit began that included replacing the exterior glass with new material and a bit of colour. The windows are more energy efficient and allow 60% more daylight into the building.

Related:
363 Broadway Morguard Investments
363 Broadway Winnipeg Building Index
Broadway towers to get face lift Winnipeg Free Press

Update November 2011:
363 Broadway

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Legislature Grounds - Soldier's Relatives' Memorial

Leg
Title: Winnipeg Soldier's Relatives' Memorial
Location:
Broadway and Osborne, Legislature Grounds
(Map)
Unveiled:
May 13, 1923

Cost: $16,000
Artist: Marguerite Taylor

Background:

October 30, 1920, Winnipeg Tribune

In the autumn of 1920 a group called the Winnipeg Soldier's Relatives' Memorial Association was formed with the intention of creating a monument to Winnipeg's war dead. Their first general meeting took place on November 3, 1920 at the offices of the Winnipeg Board of Trade on Main Street under the leadership of former Mayor and president of the Manitoba Bridge and Iron Works Limited T. R. Deacon.

Details were still to be worked out, but two things that they insisted upon were that it have a prominent place in the city, within 8 miles of Portage and Main, and that it include the name of every person from the Greater Winnipeg area who was killed in the First World War.


March 8, 1921. Winnipeg Free Press

The organization spent a year researching and compiling the names of war dead. This included a big public write-in campaign geared at local families. They also spent $1,000 to have researchers in Ottawa comb through death records to make sure that those without relatives in the city were not. The campaign wrapped up on November 1, 1921 with a two day phone-in blitz. 

In the end, almost 1,600 names were collected. This number changed a couple of times after the initial figures were released, right up to year of the unveiling and one addition after the monument was erected. The final number appears to be 1,658.

Taylor. April 13, 1963, Winnipeg Free Press

As the names were being compiled there was, of course, the matter of the monument itself.

Architect Colonel J. M Semmens of the 78th Battalion, Winnipeg Grenadiers was chosen for the design. 

The artist chosen was Marguerite Taylor. Mrs Taylor was born, raised and trained in Paris as Marguerite Jud. She met and married husband Hilliard Taylor, a Canadian businessman based in London, and the couple settled in Winnipeg in 1904. Her sculptures can be seen all over the world, from Reykjavik to London and Philadelphia to Prince Albert, SK. Another local sculpture that may be familiar is the Peguis monument in Kildonan Park.

Taylor went to England for six months to work on the piece. She later told the Tribune about the inspiration for the figure:

...the time peace was declared, when the victorious soldier threw his rifle into his left hand and triumphantly whirled his tin hat in the air. I wanted to do a happy soldier so the bereaved wives and mothers would not be too much saddened when they looked at it.” (source).

The statue was cast by Burton and Co. of London in January 1923. The bronze tablets containing the names were produced by Henry Birks and Sons in Montreal. The stonework was by Wyatt and Ireland of Winnipeg.

May 7, 1923, Winnipeg Tribune

The monument was unveiled on May 13, 1923, Decoration Day. That year's Decoration Day parade was said to have been the largest parade ever seen in Winnipeg and thousands jammed the Legislature grounds for the dedication.

Justice Dennistoun spoke of the importance of the monument:


"Whosoever in the future learns from this monument that 1619 men and women of this place sacrificed their lives in the late war will have cause for astonishment. That a comparatively small community in Canada, thousand of miles from the battle-grounds, should mourn 1619 dead, is in itself a fearful commentary on the hideousness of war, and a warning to those who come after to strive with all of their might for the avoidance of a like fate in future". 

May 14, 1923, Winnipeg Free Press

The cost of the monument was estimated at $25,000. It appears that much of the fundrasing went on behind the scenes, as there is little mention of it in the newspapers. Various service organizations, including the Kinsmen, raised money. The committee itself, which eventually numbered nearly 1,000, had a large contingent of local businessmen who, presumably, contributed and arm-twisted colleagues.

 Ceremony. Winnipeg Tribune, May 18, 1942

This memorial was the setting for a Winnipeg Soldier's Relatives' Association ceremony each Decoration Day until the mid 1950s. The ceremony usually consisted of a procession marching from All Saints Church, a short eulogy, a song by the All Saints choir, taps and the laying of flowers by relatives or for those who sent a flower to Winnipeg to be laid. 

It was also the scene for many intimate commemoration ceremonies such as family gatherings. On June 28, 1924 the nursing sisters held a memorial to those killed on the hospital ship Llandovery Castle six years earlier. On the morning of the start of the National Chapter of the Daughters of the Empire conference in Winnipeg, a wreath was laid before the meetings began.

The final Decoration Day Ceremony appears to have been held in 1956. 

Winnipeg Downtown


TO THE IMMORTAL MEMORY OF THE MEN AND WOMEN FROM WINNIPEG WHO GAVE THEIR LIVES IN THE GREAT WAR, 1914-1918. THEY DIED THE NOBLEST DEATH THAT MEN MAY DIE FIGHTING FOR GOD, TRUTH AND LIBERTY.

IN THE MORNING AND AT THE GOING DOWN OF THE SUN WE WILL REMEMBER THEM.

ERECTED BY THE LIVING HEARTS OF KINSMEN

Related:
Dedication Program Soldier's Relatives' Memorial Association
Next of Kin Monument Manitoba Historical Society
List of all names that appear on the monument

Sunday, August 1, 2010

Broadway - Replica Streetcar 596


Title: Replica Streetcar 596, "Nellie"
Location:
Broadway b/t Fort and Garry Streets
(Map)
Unveiled:
May 23, 2009

Artist:
David Hewlett, designer

Background


Strike! on Main
The replica of Winnipeg streetcar 596 was built by members of I.A.T.S.E. Local 63 (Manitoba Theatre Centre) for the May 23, 2009 outdoor performance of Strike! the Musical.

The original 596 was the streetcar set loose down Main Street during the big protest march of June 21, 1919 . On the second pass protesters pulled it off the track and set it alight. This incident sparked the Bloody Saturday riot and created an iconic image of Winnipeg's history.

The Forks
Since that time the streetcar has been used as a promotional tool for the musical, spending part of the winter at the Forks. In the summer of 2010 it was placed on the north side of Broadway between Fort and Garry Streets, land owned by Cambrian Credit Union.



The interior contains numerous photographs and information panels about the strike and Winnipeg's streetcar history. The car is open daily from 9 am to 6 pm until September 27, 2010. Admission is free.

Night on Main Street

Related:
Strike! The Musical
Winnipeg Streetcar 356 Restoration Project
Winnipeg Streetcar image slide show

Thursday, July 1, 2010

Memorial Park

Memorial Park
Place: Memorial Park
Address: Memorial Boulevard between Broadway and York Map
Opened: 1962
Architect:
Cameron Man
Cost: $120,000

Background

Memorial Fountain

The city had long been interested in constructing a mall or grand boulevard stretching from Portage Avenue to the Legislative Building but assembling the assorted plots of land took longer than expected.

One landowner that they had to deal with was the Hudson's Bay Company. In the mid 1920s the two agreed on a land swap that saw the city obtain vacant land near present-day St. Mary Avenue at Memorial Boulevard while the Bay got a parcel of vacant land near Portage and Memorial on which they built their new flagship department store.

Free Press May 21, 1925:

In 1925 the city announced that construction would begin on the first phase of "The Mall" stretching from Portage Avenue to St. Mary Avenue. Soon after it was announced that the Mall would be home of the city's permanent cenotaph, a project that spent years trying to get off the ground.

Memorial Boulevard ca. 1954 from winterbos on flickr:

The University of Manitoba campus still occupied the land south of St. Mary Avenue. In the 1950s there was a push to get the university to relocate their remaining downtown facilities to their Fort Garry campus. This left a large parcel of prime land that would be soon up for grabs.

There was talk of constructing new provincial office buildings, creating a sort of "Legislature campus".
It was then touted as the home of a new Winnipeg City Hall, the city even purchased the land for this purpose in the late 1950s. Frosty relations between Premier Douglas Campbell and Mayor Stephen Juba scuttled those plans.


Free Press Oct 16, 1961

In 1961 the province announced the creation of a provincial park on the site.
On April 28, 1961 a 'handing over' ceremony took place where Juba turned over the deed for the 4.5 acres of land to the province and in return Roblin gave Juba a cheque to cover the original purchase price and cost of construction.

Memorial Park

As the site was already home to the cenotaph at one end and the "Next of Kin" Monument at the other,  it was decided that the extended Mall would be dedicated to Veterans. Roblin said that the park "...should be one of the most beautiful in Canada and a fitting tribute to those who gave their lives for Freedom" (Winnipeg Free Press, October 10, 1961)

The plans included the extension of the roadway to the front of the Legislature and making York Avenue an east - west though street. The roadwork was completed in November 1961. The area immediately north of York would be the actual park space with 126 trees, a reflecting pool, a fountain and flower gardens.


Free Press October 10, 1961:

The centerpiece of the park is the pool and fountain.
Construction on the 120' x 100' pool began in September 1961. The 'dancing fountain' with coloured light display and jets powerful enough to send water 30 feet in the air was supplied by City Hydro to commemorate their 50th anniversary in 1961. For that reason it is simply called 'City Hydro Fountain'.


Winnipeg Tribune, September 18, 1962:

On September 28th, 1962 the park was dedicated by Lieutenant Governor Errick Willis and Premier Duff Roblin. The ceremony was attended by legion officials, war mothers who lost their sons in battle and high school students from across the city. Due to winds gusting to 30 mph the fountain was turned on for only a few moments and the jets were not used at full power.

In 1973 the park was the scene of one of Manitoba's oddest political debates.

The province had approved the construction of a washroom facility on the site. Juba did not like the idea and went on a public campaign against minister Russ Doern and the washrooms. The city refused to issue a building permit and the debate reached a climax when Juba had a 'port-a-potty' placed on the site with a sign declaring it to be the new office of the minister. 


In the end, the Province built the 'Broadway Biffy' which was demolished in 2006.


Fountain
Fountain
Dedication plaques for City Hydro Fountain

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Ciclovia Photos !

Winnipeg's FIRST Ciclovia hits the streets Sunday, Sept. 13, 2009 !

I've read a fair bit about Ciclovia's origins in Bogata, Columbia and other street-friendly stuff the former mayor did there. See here and here about Bogata and for more on Winnipeg's.

Here are some photos. Not too shabby for a first annual ! It was perfect timing for this given that the summer festival weather has been held over !
Bike polo:Tablecloth dining at Memorial and Broadway !

Sunday, July 12, 2009

287 Broadway - Former Sovereign Building

287 Broadway

Place: Former Sovereign Building Renovation
Address: 287 Broadway (at Smith)
Website:
287Broadway.com
Status: In Process
Size:
Six storeys, 65,000 sq ft
Cost: Not dislcosed

Background:


The Sovereign Building was constructed in 1957 in what was the heart of Winnipeg's financial district. Initially the headquarters for Sovereign Life Insurance, the company became Federated Insurance in 1960.

ca. 1960s

From 1980 - 1992 Manitoba Housing was a major tenant, occupying three floors.
They then vacated to the former Investors Building across the street and numerous smaller offices filled in the gap.

On June 1, 2009
Inlett Properties bought the building and announced a multi-million dollar interior and exterior renovation to be spread over a number of years.

Related:
Making a Statement on Broadway WFP Jun 15 '09
287 Broadway Inlett Properties

UPDATES:

Former Sovereign Life Building
July 2011


Broadway, Winnipeg
February 2012


Former Sovereign Life Building
April 2012