Showing posts with label Memorial Boulevard. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Memorial Boulevard. Show all posts

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Legislature Grounds - Soldier's Relatives' Memorial

Leg
Title: Winnipeg Soldier's Relatives' Memorial
Location:
Broadway and Osborne, Legislature Grounds
(Map)
Unveiled:
May 13, 1923

Cost: $16,000
Artist: Marguerite Taylor

Background:

October 30, 1920, Winnipeg Tribune

In the autumn of 1920 a group called the Winnipeg Soldier's Relatives' Memorial Association was formed with the intention of creating a monument to Winnipeg's war dead. Their first general meeting took place on November 3, 1920 at the offices of the Winnipeg Board of Trade on Main Street under the leadership of former Mayor and president of the Manitoba Bridge and Iron Works Limited T. R. Deacon.

Details were still to be worked out, but two things that they insisted upon were that it have a prominent place in the city, within 8 miles of Portage and Main, and that it include the name of every person from the Greater Winnipeg area who was killed in the First World War.


March 8, 1921. Winnipeg Free Press

The organization spent a year researching and compiling the names of war dead. This included a big public write-in campaign geared at local families. They also spent $1,000 to have researchers in Ottawa comb through death records to make sure that those without relatives in the city were not. The campaign wrapped up on November 1, 1921 with a two day phone-in blitz. 

In the end, almost 1,600 names were collected. This number changed a couple of times after the initial figures were released, right up to year of the unveiling and one addition after the monument was erected. The final number appears to be 1,658.

Taylor. April 13, 1963, Winnipeg Free Press

As the names were being compiled there was, of course, the matter of the monument itself.

Architect Colonel J. M Semmens of the 78th Battalion, Winnipeg Grenadiers was chosen for the design. 

The artist chosen was Marguerite Taylor. Mrs Taylor was born, raised and trained in Paris as Marguerite Jud. She met and married husband Hilliard Taylor, a Canadian businessman based in London, and the couple settled in Winnipeg in 1904. Her sculptures can be seen all over the world, from Reykjavik to London and Philadelphia to Prince Albert, SK. Another local sculpture that may be familiar is the Peguis monument in Kildonan Park.

Taylor went to England for six months to work on the piece. She later told the Tribune about the inspiration for the figure:

...the time peace was declared, when the victorious soldier threw his rifle into his left hand and triumphantly whirled his tin hat in the air. I wanted to do a happy soldier so the bereaved wives and mothers would not be too much saddened when they looked at it.” (source).

The statue was cast by Burton and Co. of London in January 1923. The bronze tablets containing the names were produced by Henry Birks and Sons in Montreal. The stonework was by Wyatt and Ireland of Winnipeg.

May 7, 1923, Winnipeg Tribune

The monument was unveiled on May 13, 1923, Decoration Day. That year's Decoration Day parade was said to have been the largest parade ever seen in Winnipeg and thousands jammed the Legislature grounds for the dedication.

Justice Dennistoun spoke of the importance of the monument:


"Whosoever in the future learns from this monument that 1619 men and women of this place sacrificed their lives in the late war will have cause for astonishment. That a comparatively small community in Canada, thousand of miles from the battle-grounds, should mourn 1619 dead, is in itself a fearful commentary on the hideousness of war, and a warning to those who come after to strive with all of their might for the avoidance of a like fate in future". 

May 14, 1923, Winnipeg Free Press

The cost of the monument was estimated at $25,000. It appears that much of the fundrasing went on behind the scenes, as there is little mention of it in the newspapers. Various service organizations, including the Kinsmen, raised money. The committee itself, which eventually numbered nearly 1,000, had a large contingent of local businessmen who, presumably, contributed and arm-twisted colleagues.

 Ceremony. Winnipeg Tribune, May 18, 1942

This memorial was the setting for a Winnipeg Soldier's Relatives' Association ceremony each Decoration Day until the mid 1950s. The ceremony usually consisted of a procession marching from All Saints Church, a short eulogy, a song by the All Saints choir, taps and the laying of flowers by relatives or for those who sent a flower to Winnipeg to be laid. 

It was also the scene for many intimate commemoration ceremonies such as family gatherings. On June 28, 1924 the nursing sisters held a memorial to those killed on the hospital ship Llandovery Castle six years earlier. On the morning of the start of the National Chapter of the Daughters of the Empire conference in Winnipeg, a wreath was laid before the meetings began.

The final Decoration Day Ceremony appears to have been held in 1956. 

Winnipeg Downtown


TO THE IMMORTAL MEMORY OF THE MEN AND WOMEN FROM WINNIPEG WHO GAVE THEIR LIVES IN THE GREAT WAR, 1914-1918. THEY DIED THE NOBLEST DEATH THAT MEN MAY DIE FIGHTING FOR GOD, TRUTH AND LIBERTY.

IN THE MORNING AND AT THE GOING DOWN OF THE SUN WE WILL REMEMBER THEM.

ERECTED BY THE LIVING HEARTS OF KINSMEN

Related:
Dedication Program Soldier's Relatives' Memorial Association
Next of Kin Monument Manitoba Historical Society
List of all names that appear on the monument

Friday, July 16, 2010

Memorial Boulevard at Colony Street - Lord Selkirk Monument

Lord Selkirk Monument
Title: Lord Selkirk Monument
Location:
Memorial Boulevard at Colony Street
(Map)
Unveiled:
October 1955

Artist:
Roy Sellors

The triangular piece of land at Colony and Memorial was given to the city by the Hudson's Bay Company likely in the early 1920s. At the time, there was a land swap involving the province, city, and HBC that created space for Memorial Boulevard, an extension of St. Mary Avenue to the east, and enough land so that the HBC could build a new department store.

The desire to construct a monument to commemorate Lord Selkirk in Winnipeg began in the early 1940s, perhaps to coincide with his designation as a person of national historical significance in 1943. The war, however, put the fundraising campaign on hold for a decade.

On August 17, 1953, city council approved an application from the Manitoba Historical Society and Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada to build the Selkirk monument at this site.

Selkirk Monument

The design chosen was that of
architect and U of M professor Roy Sellors.

It is a Tyndall stone wall 23-feet in length and three feet high that contains the passage,
"Neither a wild and visionary scheme nor a cloak to cover aggression"  from a letter written by Selkirk in the month of his death.

Convalescing in the south of France, Selkirk was troubled by the fact that the
British government was pressuring the Northwest Company and Hudson's Bay Company, to merge their lands. Selkirk, an HBC man, felt the merger cold have a negative impact on the settlements. The entire passage reads:

"With respect to giving up the settlement or selling it to the North West Company, that is entirely out of the question ... I know of no consideration that would induce me to abandon it. I ground this resolution, not only on the principle of supporting the settlers whom I have already sent to the place, but also because I consider my character at stake upon the success of the undertaking, and upon proving that it was neither a wild or visionary scheme nor a cloak to cover sordid plans of aggression, charges which would be left in too ambiguous a state if I were to abandon the settlement at its present stage, and above all if I were to sell it to its enemies." (source).


June 23 1962, Winnipeg Free Press

the city revamped the land around the monument in 1962 by adding sixteen linden trees, benches, and a cobblestones.

In 2004, a plaque to honour
Peter Rindisbacher a young artist who lived at Red River from 1821 - 1826 and one of the first Europeans to document life in the new settlement through art, was added.

Thursday, July 1, 2010

Memorial Park

Memorial Park
Place: Memorial Park
Address: Memorial Boulevard between Broadway and York Map
Opened: 1962
Architect:
Cameron Man
Cost: $120,000

Background

Memorial Fountain

The city had long been interested in constructing a mall or grand boulevard stretching from Portage Avenue to the Legislative Building but assembling the assorted plots of land took longer than expected.

One landowner that they had to deal with was the Hudson's Bay Company. In the mid 1920s the two agreed on a land swap that saw the city obtain vacant land near present-day St. Mary Avenue at Memorial Boulevard while the Bay got a parcel of vacant land near Portage and Memorial on which they built their new flagship department store.

Free Press May 21, 1925:

In 1925 the city announced that construction would begin on the first phase of "The Mall" stretching from Portage Avenue to St. Mary Avenue. Soon after it was announced that the Mall would be home of the city's permanent cenotaph, a project that spent years trying to get off the ground.

Memorial Boulevard ca. 1954 from winterbos on flickr:

The University of Manitoba campus still occupied the land south of St. Mary Avenue. In the 1950s there was a push to get the university to relocate their remaining downtown facilities to their Fort Garry campus. This left a large parcel of prime land that would be soon up for grabs.

There was talk of constructing new provincial office buildings, creating a sort of "Legislature campus".
It was then touted as the home of a new Winnipeg City Hall, the city even purchased the land for this purpose in the late 1950s. Frosty relations between Premier Douglas Campbell and Mayor Stephen Juba scuttled those plans.


Free Press Oct 16, 1961

In 1961 the province announced the creation of a provincial park on the site.
On April 28, 1961 a 'handing over' ceremony took place where Juba turned over the deed for the 4.5 acres of land to the province and in return Roblin gave Juba a cheque to cover the original purchase price and cost of construction.

Memorial Park

As the site was already home to the cenotaph at one end and the "Next of Kin" Monument at the other,  it was decided that the extended Mall would be dedicated to Veterans. Roblin said that the park "...should be one of the most beautiful in Canada and a fitting tribute to those who gave their lives for Freedom" (Winnipeg Free Press, October 10, 1961)

The plans included the extension of the roadway to the front of the Legislature and making York Avenue an east - west though street. The roadwork was completed in November 1961. The area immediately north of York would be the actual park space with 126 trees, a reflecting pool, a fountain and flower gardens.


Free Press October 10, 1961:

The centerpiece of the park is the pool and fountain.
Construction on the 120' x 100' pool began in September 1961. The 'dancing fountain' with coloured light display and jets powerful enough to send water 30 feet in the air was supplied by City Hydro to commemorate their 50th anniversary in 1961. For that reason it is simply called 'City Hydro Fountain'.


Winnipeg Tribune, September 18, 1962:

On September 28th, 1962 the park was dedicated by Lieutenant Governor Errick Willis and Premier Duff Roblin. The ceremony was attended by legion officials, war mothers who lost their sons in battle and high school students from across the city. Due to winds gusting to 30 mph the fountain was turned on for only a few moments and the jets were not used at full power.

In 1973 the park was the scene of one of Manitoba's oddest political debates.

The province had approved the construction of a washroom facility on the site. Juba did not like the idea and went on a public campaign against minister Russ Doern and the washrooms. The city refused to issue a building permit and the debate reached a climax when Juba had a 'port-a-potty' placed on the site with a sign declaring it to be the new office of the minister. 


In the end, the Province built the 'Broadway Biffy' which was demolished in 2006.


Fountain
Fountain
Dedication plaques for City Hydro Fountain

Sunday, November 15, 2009

450 Memorial Boulevard: The Bay Parkade

© 2009, Christian Cassidy
The Bay Parkade

Place: The Bay Parkade
Address: 301 Memorial Boulevard Map
Opened: October 29, 1954
Architects:
Smith Hynchman Grillis (Detroit), Moody Moore Architects (Winnipeg)

Contractor: Bird Construction
Cost: $750,000

Background:

June 25, 1967, Winnipeg Tribune

After World War II, cities across North America underwent huge changes. People began turning their backs on city cores, opting instead for suburban living. 

New regional roads and bridges, such as the Disraeli Freeway, had to be built to handle the increase in vehicle traffic in and out of the downtown. 

The streetcar era ended in favour of diesel buses as they were considered more flexible to handle the demands of a spread-out population.

For downtown office buildings and stores, the demand for additional parking also rose as their employees and customers alike became more car dependent.


http://www.virtual.heritagewinnipeg.com/windowPhoto.php?fileNum=%2004-593&tName=commercial

The Hudson's Bay Company department store on Portage Avenue was the first in Winnipeg to construct a parkade, using its existing store parking lot to the south of the building as the base. At the time, it was said to be the only multi-level parking structure between Thunder Bay and Vancouver. 


The parkade was part of a multi-million dollar refurbishment and renovation of the flagship store that took place between 1954 and 1956. Other changes included a new loading bay / warehouse area, installation of escalators to the top floor and the opening of the sixth floor, formerly warehouse space, as a furniture department and the Paddle Wheel Buffet.

May 12, 1954, Winnipeg Free Press

The HBC hired George Devlin of National Garages Inc. of Detroit, Michigan, a firm that specialized in the engineering and operation of parkades, to oversee the project. They turned to Smith Hynchman Grillis of Detroit for the design.

In May 1954, National Garages awarded the tenders for the local architect to Moody Moore and for construction to Bird Construction Company.

The parkade consisted of a ground level and upper deck held up by steel pillars that go 45 feet below the surface. The original capacity was 450 cars, but it was built so that additional storeys could be added at a later date.

Below the parkade is a 25,000 square foot extension to the store's basement to create additional warehouse and service space.

http://umanitoba.ca/libraries/archives/tribune/photographs/display_photo.php?id=4250
Top: October 28, 1964, Winnipeg Free Press
Bottom: Ca. November 1954. (Source: U of M, Tribune Photo Collection)

The Bay Parkade opened at 9:00 am on Friday, October 29th, 1954.

The first car to enter was a convertible carrying the five longest-serving employees of the store. Users were greeting by the sights and sounds of the Royal Canadian Horse Artillery Band who performed in the structure from 9:10 to 9:40.


October 28, 1954, Winnipeg Free Press

The parkade was billed as "something Winnipeg has never seen before", so the day before the opening illustrated instructions on how to properly use it appeared in the local papers.

When a driver entered, an attendant came to the window to present them with a ticket and escort them to an open spot. While shopping, customers could choose to have their parcels delivered to the parkade warehouse. When it was time to leave, the driver headed for the exit. The warehouse attendant would load any waiting parcels in the car, then onto the cashier to pay.


http://umanitoba.ca/libraries/archives/tribune/photographs/display_photo.php?id=2350
http://wbi.lib.umanitoba.ca/WinnipegBuildings/showBuilding.jsp?id=519
Top: Ca. August, 1955. (Source: U of M, Tribune Photo Collection)
Bottom: ca. unknown (Source: U of M, Winnipeg Building Index)
(Note: loading dock not yet covered)

The parkade was an immediate success and an additional deck was added the following year. (Also in 1955, Eaton's hired Moody Moore to design a multi-level parkade adjacent to their Portage Avenue store.)

In 1964, a third deck was added. The project included the covering of the loading dock and the addition of an auto service centre on the top floor.

In 1987, the Bay sold the parkade to the Toronto-based Citipark as part of a cross-country sell-off of their parkades to allow them to concentrate on their core retail business. The new owner made major renovations to the structure over the next five years.

Today, the 750 lot parkade is owned and operated by Impark.

Monday, September 28, 2009

300 Memorial Boulevard - The Winnipeg Art Gallery

WAG

Place: Winnipeg Art Gallery
Address: 300 Memorial Boulevard (Map)
Architect: Gustavo da Roza
Cost: $4.5 m
Opened:
September 25, 1971


Background:


(Source)

Established in 1912 as the Winnipeg Museum of Fine Arts, the Winnipeg Art Gallery (WAG) had a number homes including the Federal Building and the Industrial Bureau on Main Street. On April 24, 1933, it opened on the fourth floor of the newly constructed Civic Auditorium, now the Provincial Archives Building, on Vaughan Street.

As the city grew, so did the gallery's collection and space at the auditorium became tight. It also had to compete with public events such as fairs and concerts that restricted its hours of operation. By the 1950s the gallery was hosting shows at other venues around the city.

In the mid 1960s the province and city were putting together the final plans for the Centennial Centre District which would include a new museum, concert hall and the Manitoba Theatre Centre. The WAG was slated to be part of the district but the gallery's board protested that the Main Street site was "too far off the beaten track" and preferred a location near the Civic Auditorium, perhaps even the Auditorium building itself.

(Source)

A search committee was set up to find a permanent site in 1966. One proposal it presented was the triangle of land at Memorial Boulevard and Colony Street. It was home to a closed gas station, the Cinema Centre building, the Mall Medical Building and a Sam the Cameraman store. A developer owned most of the land with plans to build an apartment complex but agreed to hold off to see if the art gallery wanted it.

The gallery was interested and put together a multi-million dollar construction fund made up of $1 million from the
Centennial Committee , $500,000 from the federal government, and $1.25 million form the province. Another $854,000 came from private donations.


An international design competition fro the building was held and 34-year-old University of Manitoba architecture professor and member of Number 10 Architecture Group Gustavo da Roza won.

Da Roza, who was born in Hong Kong, received his architecture degree at the U of M. He said that the design was inspired by an iceberg, a tribute to our cold winters: "Our particular Canadian prairie environment deserves a regional quality."



In July 1971, the WAG's office staff moved across the street to the new building and director Ferdinand Eckhardt announced that the official opening would take place on September 25th by HRH Princess Margaret and her husband, the Earl of Snowdon.

That summer was notable for labour strife in the construction industry. Strikes by both bricklayers and electricians meant that the building's completion fell three months behind schedule.


September 24, 1971, Winnipeg Free Press

In the end, the opening went ahead as planned.

On Friday, September 24, 1971, the Royal couple had a private tour of the gallery. Strikers from both the electrical workers union and CJAY TV tried to block the entrance but members of the public who showed up to catch a glimpse of the royal couple or had passes to enter formed a barrier to keep strikers from the doors.

The following morning at 11:00 a.m. the Royal couple arrived to a crowd of 3,000 people on Memorial Boulevard to declare the building officially open.


Restricted tours of the building took place through the weekend and then the gallery closed again so that work on the interior could be completed. It wasn't until January 18, 1972 that the gallery opened to the general public.


WAG Studio


In 1993 the Winnipeg Art Gallery purchased the Mall Medical building to its north. A $750,000 infrastructure grant helped convert it into the Winnipeg Art Gallery Studio.


In September 2010 plans were announced for a $30 m Inuit Art and Learning Centre (IALC) to be built on the site of the studio building. Originally intended to be open for its centennial celebrations in 2012, the call for proposals for an architect for the three storey, 45,000 sq. ft. centre was not issued until July 30, 2012. The IALC is expected to open in 2014.

Related:  
WAG Timeline Winnipeg Art Gallery 
Ahead by a century Winnipeg Free Press (Sept. 2012)
Winnipeg Art Gallery Winnipeg Architecture Foundation
Winnipeg Art Gallery U of M Building Index  
Winnipeg Art Gallery History WAG  
The Winnipeg Art Gallery Manitoba Calling (1937)  
The Winnipeg Art Gallery in 1912 and 1987 MHS